Introduction and 2012 in review

For a first post this should probably be brief, but as you may  learn from reading more and more of my upcoming posts, I struggle to keep it brief.

My general concept for this page is to share my opinions/ratings on music and books that I’m listening to and reading (or have read.) I unfortunately do not have the time or resources to provide information on all things music and literature related, but I will share my knowledge and experiences on said subjects.

So to start off, 2012… Well besides it being a bit of a roller-coaster year for me personally, I found some solace in music as usual. Some bands/musicians that I saw live in 2012 include

  • Kasabian (7/10)
  • Bon Iver (8/10)
  • The Black Keys (6/10)
  • Leighton Meester (7/10)
  • Arkells and The Maine (6/10)
  • The Dandy Warhols (6/10)
  • The Temper Trap (7/10)
  • Bumbershoot Festival (including: Jane’s Addiction (5/10), Gotye (9/10), City & Colour (7/10), Keane (7/10), Civil Twilight (8/10.)
  • The Shins (8/10)
  • Ben Howard (9/10)
  • Voices in the Park festival (including: Sarah McLachlan (8/10), Hedley (9/10), Bryan Adams (7/10), Stevie Nicks (10/10.)
  • Alanis Morissette (10/10)
  • Joshua Radin (9/10)
  • Snow Patrol (9/10)
  • Rachael Yamagata (7/10)
  • Walk the Moon (7/10)
  • Third Eye Blind (7/10)

My rating out of 10 is based on a number of factors including: Cost of tickets relative to show value, general performance, vocal/musical ability, overall show atmosphere.

I think we’ll save the book reviews for next time. I don’t want to force too many of my opinions onto the world at once.
Happy music listening!

LaurenJ

Gotye Stevie Nicks Alanis Morrissette DSCN4791

2 thoughts on “Introduction and 2012 in review

  1. Hi Lauren!
    I’m excited to read more blog posts from you. I’m all a huge book and music lover. Looking forward to checking out some new tunes and books recommended by you. I feel at different times in my life a certain song gets me through it. From Adel to Caroliona Liar and maybe a little old school Britney Spears 🙂
    – Alysha
    Ps. what books are you currently reading?

Leave a Reply

