“Happiness consists in realizing it is all a great strange dream” ― Jack Kerouac

Following on from my previous post, on the music front I have seen Nelly Furtado (8/10) and my friends’ bands “The Oh Wells” and “Smash Boom Pow” play recently.
I prefer not to rate my friends’ bands but I will say that it was a great show – my first time seeing them live.

To continue with the second intent of this blog, books, here are some that I have read recently along with my ratings:

Dream Power – Dr Ann Faraday (8/10)
Travels with Charley – John Steinbeck (9/10)
Big Sur – Jack Kerouac (8/10)
On the Road – Jack Kerouac (9/10)
Blink – Malcolm Gladwell (9/10)
The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World – HH The Dalai Lama and Howard Cutler (8/10)
Bossypants – Tina Fey (10/10)
The Elegance of the Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery (10/10)
Out of Africa – Isak Dinesen (10/10)
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer (10/10)

As you can probably tell, I’m a big fan of anything by Jack Kerouac, and I love books about Africa – it always makes me long for home (I was born and raised in South Africa.)

John Steinbeck is another great writer. I find myself constantly quoting both Kerouac and Steinbeck. I have to carry a notepad on me at all times and I often jot down lines from the books that I’m reading and I keep them all in a “journal of inspiration.”

Words and music is pretty much what sums me up as a person, so hopefully I can inspire at least one person with this blog to read a book they’ve never read, or listen to some new music.

2 thoughts on ““Happiness consists in realizing it is all a great strange dream” ― Jack Kerouac

  1. Oh I love getting book reviews. I walk into Chapters and never know where to start! I look forward to checking out some of your recommendations. I have heard so much about the Fifty Shades series but I’m a little nervous about it with all the hype 🙂 Have your read them?

  2. I love book stores too, I can spend hours wandering around.
    I’m not too keen on that series, but then again I read the Twilight series just before it became popular, so who am I to judge?!?!

    Hope you find a book that you like. I just bought 4 more in San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

